Horváth Csaba Memorial Laboratory of Bioseparation Sciences

''Lasciate Ogni Speranza O'voi Che Entrate Senza Risultati''

(Csaba Horváth)

H Cs utolso fenykep v2

Established in 2004 with the help of the Marie Curie Chair grant of the European Commission

Prof. Csaba Horváth


Professor Csaba Horváth (1930-2004) was born in Hungary and graduated in chemical engineering from the Budapest Institute of Technology. The political maelstrom around the Hungarian revolution in October 1956 drove him to West Germany, where in 1961 he began his doctoral studies at the J.W. Goethe University in Frankfurt under the direction of Prof. Halász. After receiving his Ph.D. in physical chemistry, he immigrated to the United States in 1963 and started research at the Harvard Medical School.

In the following year, Dr. Horváth moved to Yale where he designed and built the first high performance liquid chromatograph to demonstrate the feasibility and potential of HPLC in bioseparation sciences. He chaired the Department of Chemical Engineering at Yale from 1987 to 1993 and was named as Roberto C. Goizueta Professor of Chemical Engineering in 1998.

Professor Horváth has contributed close to 300 publications to the field of separation sciences, had nine patents and was a frequently invited speaker on topics dealing with chromatography and electrophoresis at international symposia and other events all over the world. He served on the scientific advisory boards of many industrial and government organizations and on the editorial boards of numerous scientific journals.

Professor Horváth received an honorary doctorate from the Technical University of Budapest, Hungary, in 1986 and became an external member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences in 1990. Among the numerous awards and honors he has received are the Dal Nogare Award (1978), the Commemorative Tswett Medal (1978), the M.S. Tswett Award in Chromatography (1983), the Chromatography Award of the Eastern Analytical Symposium (1986), Funding Fellow of American Institute for Medical and Biomedial Engineering (1992) the A.J.P Martin Medal (1994), Fellow of the AIChE (1994), the Halász Medal Award (1997), the Michael Widmer Award (2000), the American Chemical Society National Award in Separation Science and Technology (2001), the Cross of Honor for Arts and Sciences of the Austrian Republic (2002), the Torbern Bergman Medal of the Swedish Chemical Society (2003) and the Heureka Prize of the Hungarian Chemical Society (2003).

In early 2004, Professor Horváth was elected as a member of the US National Academy of Engineering for pioneering the concept and reduction to practice of high pressure liquid chromatography and for his leadership in the development of bioanalytical techniques.

HCS lab 2